Events

F. Marion Keele, founder of the Blind Center of Nevada, was motivated to create a sanctuary in Las Vegas dedicated to assisting the blind when he lost his sight at the age of 38. Marion and his wife, Effie, spent time at the Utah Blind Center in Salt Lake City, where they learned to teach various crafts and skills to their blind companions. When Marion passed away in 1955, one of his students, Audrey Bascom Tait, took on Marion’s mission, and convinced the Lion’s Club to help her create a place to help the blind see beyond their limitations. Thus, the Sightless Center was born.

In the early the 2000’s the Las Vegas valley’s blind and visually impaired population was growing, and the “Sightless Center” went through a tremendous metamorphosis. The renamed “Blind Center of Nevada” brought on a community-based Board of Directors, opened an award-winning day center, began offering daily transportation, hot meals, and much more—all with the mission of helping blind individuals see beyond their limitations and discover their personal greatness.

Marion Keele

Marion Keele
Founder

Effie Keele

Effie Keele
Co-Founder

Leadership Team

  • Adrienne Belleza

    Senior Events Manager

    adrienne@blindcenter.org
    702.912.0531

  • Alejandro Ortiz

    Operations Manager

    alejandro@blindcenter.org
    702.378.3815

  • Cory Nelson

    President

    cory@blindcenter.org
    702.755.3385

  • Gus Garcia

    Communications Manager

    gus@blindcenter.org
    702.306.5112

  • Lesley Turner

    Program Manager

    Lesley@blindcenter.org
    702.827.0261

  • Ryan Doty

    Controller

    ryan@blindcenter.org
    702.827.0263

  • Theresa Davis

    Volunteer Supervisor and Driver

    theresa@blindcenter.org
    702.642.6000 ext. 4

  • Todd Imholte

    Chief Marketing & Development Officer

    todd@blindcenter.org
    702.755.0444

Board of Directors

  • Harold Brown

    Board Member
  • Jeff Davis

    Board Chairman
  • Jim Kegley

    Board Member
  • Larry Piparo

    Board Member
  • Lloyd Benson

    Board Member
  • Neal Marek

    Secretary/Treasurer